GUIDE TO PEA PROTEIN POWDER

Pea protein powder is championed by vegans who need a strong source of protein that does not relay on dairy byproducts. The protein in this powder is drawn from peas, and the best formulas are completely vegan and free of genetically modified organisms (GMOs). If you cannot tolerate dairy products or are a strict vegan, this may be one of the best protein powders on the market for your needs.

pea protein powder

The Advantages of Pea Protein Powder

The biggest advantage of using pea protein over whey or casein protein powder is that it is drawn from a natural plant source. As long as other ingredients are not added into the powder, this is a safe protein supplement for vegetarians and vegans.

Since it is drawn from a natural plant source, there is less risk of allergic reaction to this type of protein powder.

If you suffer from indigestion and other stomach problems when you consume whey or casein protein powders, you may want to try pea protein powder to see if you find some relief.

If you just know that your body cannot tolerate dairy byproducts, then this should be a safe protein supplement to consider.

If you are trying to burn fat and lose weight, pea protein is a low calorie, nutrient dense addition to your diet. Scroll down to the recommended pea protein products below for a low calorie recommendation that offers a reasonable amount of pure pea protein.

One other advantage of using pea protein powder is the ability to mix it into a variety of liquids beyond milk or water. For instance, many regular users add pea protein powder into their juices when they complete a juice fast. Others like to add pea protein into their smoothies, which are often based on juice rather than milk.

Many other proteins have a chalky or grainy texture that does not mix well into juice, so this is an alternative if you enjoy juicing or juice fasting.

Read more about the influence of pea protein on your health.

Pea Protein Powder on the Paleo Diet

It is difficult to find Paleo protein powders that completely adhere to the guidelines of a Paleo lifestyle, but pea protein is as close as you can get. If you find a completely natural pea protein powder that does not contain GMOs or other unnatural ingredients, you can consider this type of protein powder an addition to your Paleo diet.

It is important to watch out for protein powder blends that contain multiple sources of protein. Even if the label advertises natural plant sources, you cannot guarantee that brown rice or dairy byproducts are not included in the blend in some capacity. Read the label closely, or just stick with a pure pea protein powder.

The one argument against using a pure pea protein on the Paleo diet is the level of processing that goes into creating a protein powder. Whether you consider this a legitimate addition to your Paleo lifestyle or not depends on what rules you live by and how you see this type of supplement fitting into the picture.

Pea Protein Disadvantages

While there are a lot of advantages to using pea protein powder, there are a couple disadvantages to consider:

1. Not all essential amino acids are found naturally in pea protein. You can combine this type of protein with brown rice protein since they complete a superior essential amino acid profile together by making up for one another’s shortcomings. You may also find a natural plant-sourced blend that contains pea protein.

2. Very few people enjoy the taste of natural pea protein powder. You can combine it with other natural ingredients or other protein sources to create a more enjoyable taste. If you are vegan and find this to be your best source of protein, you may learn to like the taste as it is with time.

The Best Pea Protein Powder

Now that you understand the advantages and disadvantages of pea protein, what are the best pea-sourced powders currently on the market? The following options are the purest and highest quality options on the market today:

Now Sports Pea Protein


Click on image for Ratings, Reviews, and Pricing on Amazon.com
This pure pea protein powder does not contain GMOs and is rich in branched chain amino acids, or BCAAs. It does not contain soy or dairy, so it is a safe option for those with allergies to whey and casein protein powders. It is also a vegan protein powder that contains no added ingredients. Each serving contains 24 grams of protein, which is equivalent to what you get through many other types of protein powders on the market today. This is an unflavored powder, so you may want to mix it with other ingredients to add some flavor.

Naturade Pea Protein


Click on image for Ratings, Reviews, and Pricing on Amazon.com
This is a natural source of pea protein that does not include dairy, gluten, or soy. It is a vegan-safe protein powder that is also suitable for those with Celiac disease or sensitivity to wheat. The vanilla flavoring is much better than the unflavored powders offered by many other brands. Each serving contains 20 grams of protein with 130 calories.

Olympian Labs Chocolate Pea Protein


Click on image for Ratings, Reviews, and Pricing on Amazon.com
Do you prefer the taste of chocolate to plain pure pea protein? This is a delicious alternative to unflavored powders that contains 25 grams of protein in every serving. This is another vegan-friendly formula that draws its protein from yellow peas, otherwise known as split peas. The chocolate flavor is what makes this one of the best pea protein powder supplements currently on the market.

Growing Naturals Yellow Pea Protein Powder


Click on image for Ratings, Reviews, and Pricing on Amazon.com
Each serving of this pre pea protein includes 15 grams of protein and 3 grams of BCAAs. That is much less protein than you will get through other types of protein powder, including many competing pea proteins. Since each serving contains only 90 calories, you can consume multiple servings to increase your protein intake without overloading on calories. Just remember that each serving also includes 3 grams of sugar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *